Monday, January Fourteenth, Two Thousand & Thirteen

IMG_2140IMG_1561

I (Kristina) had been wanting to save money and be more green this new year by trying out a few homemade cleaners. Here is the jar of all-natural laundry soap, stored in a pretty Ball jar, of course. I was surprised at how well it worked and how little I needed, costing only pennies a load. |Toledo,OH

A local coffee roaster, Oddly Correct Coffee, just opened a new cafe near the Boiler Room. Derek and I went there Saturday to check it out. They brought the coffee to us in a small glass beaker, carried and a dark wood slab. The combination of the deep reddish brown of the coffee, the dark wood, and the white cup was beautiful. The coffee was delicious, too, even without cream (they prefer customers to appreciate the pure flavor of the coffee). | Kansas City, MO

This entry was posted by lifebyjones.

5 thoughts on “Monday, January Fourteenth, Two Thousand & Thirteen

  1. I’m glad you guys were able to do local and enjoy it! I’m sure Derek especially enjoyed the coffee knowing the love he is of the bean. Maybe when we visit we can check it out.

  2. I wouldn’t say I was brave to drink it black…I didn’t have a choice ;-). They don’t have half and half there. It was good, though. We’d love to take you there! They have a lot of neat reclaimed wood around the shop!

    That’s a really beautiful photo of you with laundry detergent (way prettier than a normal detergent bottle would be I bet!). I’ve heard of people making their own laundry soap before but haven’t tried it yet. Did it take long? (time is always in short supply here) I’d love to try it sometime 🙂

    • Rebecca-seriously took as long as it would take to grate a bar of cheese-you grate the Fels Naptha soap, add 1 cup washing soda, 1 cup Borax and you’re done. Faster than making dinner, really. And I found everything at my grocery store. $3 for around 64 loads. I will never go back to commercial detergent. This stuff really works and is so much cheaper and better on sensitive skin. –Kristina

  3. Pingback: “I Can Make That Myself”: Dishwasher Detergent | The Lord's Housekeeper

Leave a Reply

